Change: student B-permit to normal B-permit based on a 1year work contract

Hi

I am currently on a student B-permit, which has been valid since 2015 (resp. renewed yearly) and is set to expire on 01/09/2023 (I graduated this year). On 1/10/2023, I will begin a new position.

My employment contract states: "Start: 01/09/2023, End: Expected until 30/09/2024." I asked my employer why "expected" since they told me during the interview it's for sure for at least 1 year (and might be extended most likely!). Since extension is most likely, they told me they usually do it this way so it's easier to prolong.

Now, a B-permit for 5 years is only granted if the employment contract is for at least 1 year (365 days). An L-permit can be issued if the contract is between 3 months and 1 year in duration. My concern is that the migration office could argue that since the contract says "expected" ("voraussichtlich bis xxxx"), it might not be for sure for 365 days... Maybe I'm being too paranoid, but I really want to make sure to get the B-permit for 5 years.

Should I request my employer to remove the word "voraussichtlich" (expected) from the contract to ensure that I receive the B-permit for 5 years?

This is crucial because, in 2 years, I could potentially apply for a C-permit.... (only if I am not on an L-permit in between ...)

Many thanks for your feedback

Are you EU or non-EU?

Good question. I'm European

Doesn’t answer the question since some Europeans are also considered 3rd country nationals with regards to permits. If you come from one of these countries then you’ll be EU.

https://www.sem.admin.ch/sem/en/home…r_schweiz.html

I'm from Austria!