Permission Given to leave CH and retain C permit for 4 years

I have been given permission to leave CH for four years and may retain my C permit upon my return. I am retired in Switzerland and have been here 25 years. Have a mortgage on my main property of residence.

Questions:

1. Do I have to continue to pay Swiss Health Insurance?

2. May I rent out my property short term?

3. Mortgage is with BCV, do they normally allow people in my situation to retain their mortgages? (Will go talk to them, but would like some others' experiences first...)

4. If I rent my property, do I have to file Swiss taxes even while I am out? The country I am going to has a no-double taxation agreement with Switzerland. So, I would declare the income in the country I am going to.

Please advise me based on your experience and knowledge.

I've got no experience regarding these points, but I'm fairly sure about :

1. Yes, if you receive a pension from Switzerland you need to keep paying Swiss Health Insurance, but the premium will be adjusted to the reality of your new place of residence. For sure that's for EU. If you're moving outside of EU, idk.

4. Yes. Simply because you own a property in Switzerland you need to pay property taxes in Switzerland. Income from rent would be most likely taxed only in Switzerland if there's no tax agreement between your new place of residence and Switzerland.

Hello,

Interested to read your post as I'm soon going to be submitting a request to freeze my C permit. I also recently retired. Would you be willing to share on what basis your request was approved? I sort of meet one of the requirements and still working on how to present my situation.

Thanks.

By the way, my understanding about the health insurance requirement is that it depends where you are going - even within the EU.

Carolyn

Recently looked into this, as OH will retire soon and we were considering this for a brief moment: